Civil Protection Orders

A Civil Protection Order is a court order requested by the
victim to give the offender specific instructions not to
come near the victim’s home, employment, school, or
daycare. A Civil Protection Order requires the victim to
go to court at least twice and attend a class. Protection
Orders can be placed into effect for 10-14 days, 90 days
and up to one year. In order to qualify, you must be a
family or household member, meaning spouse, former
spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, persons
who reside or have resided together and persons who
have a child in common, regardless of whether they have

been married.

Domestic violence means physical injury, sexual abuse of
forced imprisonment or the threat thereof of a family or

household member.

Civil Protection Orders are free to file. Applications are
available at your local Court Clerk’s office or online at

https://courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/Forms/Protections

No Contact Orders

A No Contact Order is ordered by a judge at arraignment

in a criminal case, after a suspect has been arrested for a
crime involving a victim. The order is in place until
further order by the judge and can be modified at

sentencing.

V' VINE

Victim Information Notification Everyday

Victims can receive emails and texts regarding

custody status and court dates.

VINE stands for Victim Information and Notification
Everyday. VINE is a resource for victims to be notified if a
defendant is released or escapes from custody. You can
register for VINE by going to www.vinelink.com. Follow the
prompts to go to Idaho and register your phone or email to
the defendant’s name. You can also call VINE at 1-866-
9VINE-ID (1-866-984-6343.)

Idaho Crime Victims Compensation Program

The Idaho CVCP was established in 1986 to provide
assistance to victims of crime for costs related to
treatment for injuries sustained as a result of a crime and
for sexual assault forensic examinations.

https://crimevictimcomp.idah \'

Assisting Victims

A Victim Witness Coordinator is a trained

professional who assists victims of crime through law
enforcement and prosecuting attorneys’ offices. They can
Crime Victims

also assist with local resources,

Compensation, and safety issues.

Aleshea Boals | Victim Witness Coordinator
Office of the Attorney General | State of Idaho
0: 208-334-4541 | W: ag.idaho.gov | 208-789-1865

Victim Notification Questionnaire - Idaho Office of
Attornev General

Victims’ Rights and

Services in Idaho

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

Attorney General Raul Labrador is committed to
protecting crime victims’ rights. Assistance is
provided to victims whose cases are being handled by
the Attorney General’s Office, either in the Appellate
Unit or through our Special Prosecutions Unit.
General victim assistance information and referral

services are available to all victims of crime in Idaho.

If you are a victim in a case that is currently being
handled by the Office of the Attorney General and
would like to be kept informed of the proceedings in
the case, please complete the Victim Notification
Form to provide us with your contact information,
located on our webpage under Victim Assistance.

If you feel a crime has been committed or you are in
danger, contact your local police immediately.


https://courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/Forms/Protections%20(idaho.gov)
http://www.vinelink.com/
https://crimevictimcomp.idaho.gov/
https://www.ag.idaho.gov/victims/victim-notification-questionnaire/
https://www.ag.idaho.gov/victims/victim-notification-questionnaire/

How a Misdemeanor Case
Proceeds Through the Court

How a Felony Case Proceeds

Victims’ Rights in Idaho

In November 1994, Idaho voters overwhelmingly
ratified the Victims’ Rights Amendment to the Idaho

Constitution. This created statutory provisions for

Through the Court System

»  Offense Occurs: If law enforcement finds sufficient SyStem

crime victims in Idaho.

The right to be treated with fairness, respect,
dignity, and privacy throughout the criminal
justice process.

The right to a timely disposition of their
case.

The right to prior notification of trial court,
appellate court, and parole proceedings and,
upon request, to information about the
sentence, incarceration, and release of the
defendant.

The right to be present at all criminal justice
proceedings.

The right to communicate with the
prosecution.

The right to be heard at all criminal justice
proceedings considering a plea of guilty,
sentencing, incarceration, or release unless
manifest of injustice would result.

The right to restitution as provided by law.
The right to refuse contact with the
defendant or anyone representing the
defendant.

The right to read the pre-sentence report
relating to the crime.

This right is extended to adult offenses and
offenses committed by juveniles that would
be considered a felony if committed by an
adult.

evidence to prove a felony offense, the defendant is
arrested. If not, the case will be investigated.

Report Prepared: The law enforcement agency that
investigates the crime prepares a report and sends it to
the prosecuting attorney.

Complaint Filed: The prosecuting attorney reviews the
case and if sufficient evidence exists to file charges, they
go before a magistrate judge to file the “Complaint.”
Arraignment: An initial appearance is called an
“arraignment.” The magistrate judge advises the
defendant of the charges, informs them of their rights,
and finds out if the defendant qualifies for a public
defender and appoints one if needed. Bond is usually set
at arraignment.

Preliminary Hearing/Grand Jury: At the preliminary
hearing, the prosecution must show “probable cause”
that this defendant committed the alleged crime.
Prosecutors can also utilize a Grand Jury to protect
victims and witnesses from testifying in an open
courtroom.

District Court Arraignment: The Prosecutor files an
“Information” which tells the defendant what charges
were proven at the preliminary hearing. If the defendant
pleads not guilty, the case is scheduled for trial. If the
defendant pleads guilty, the trial is bypassed, and
sentencing is scheduled.

Trial: Trial is required by jury unless both parties agree
with the judge deciding the case.

Pre-Sentence Investigation: When a person is convicted
of a felony, the court orders a “PSI.” The investigation is
a biography of the defendant’s life. This includes how
the crime affected the victim. Victims have the right to
read the PSI prior to sentencing.

Sentencing: Victims have the right to testify at the
sentencing hearing. You may submit a letter in the
Presentence Investigation, remain silent, or testify in
person. Notify the Victim Witness Coordinator and/or

prosecutor.

Offense Occurs: If law enforcement finds
sufficient evidence to prove a misdemeanor
offense, the defendant is arrested. If not, the case
will be investigated.

Report Prepared: The law enforcement agency
that investigates the crime prepares a report and
sends it to the prosecuting attorney.

Complaint Filed: The prosecuting attorney
reviews the case and if sufficient evidence exists
to file charges, he/she goes before a magistrate
judge to file the “Complaint.”

Arraignment: An initial appearance is called an
“arraignment.” The magistrate judge advises the
defendant of the charges, informs him of his
rights, and finds out if the defendant qualifies for
a public defender and appoints one if needed.
Bond is usually set at arraignment.

Pre-Trial Conference: a pre-trial conference is a
court hearing where a prosecutor and a defense
attorney get together and discuss whether a case is
going to go to trial or whether it can be resolved
through a plea agreement.

Trial: Trial is required by jury unless both parties
agree with the judge deciding the case.

Sentencing: If you desire, you have the right to
testify at the sentencing hearing. You may submit
a letter in the Presentence Investigation, remain
silent or testify.
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